Attorney David E. S. Marvin - Fraser Trebilcock

David E. S. Marvin

Attorney / Lansing


  • Wayne State University Law School (J.D., cum laude, 1976)
  • Michigan State University (B.S., cum laude, 1972) 

Bar & Court Admissions

  • State Bar of Michigan
  • U.S. District Court, Eastern and Western Districts of Michigan
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth and Seventh Circuits
  • Supreme Court of the United States
  • Registered Lobbyist Agent since 1980

David E. S. Marvin has been practicing law with Fraser Trebilcock for over 38 years with numerous highlights including victories before the Michigan Supreme Court and the Supreme Court of the United States. Based on his personal character and professional achievements, Dave was selected as the recipient of the Leo A. Farhat Outstanding Attorney Award from the Ingham County Bar Association in 2013.

Dave's sincere concern for the best interests of his clients is indicative of his general commitment to helping others. For example, Dave received the 2007 Community Service Award from the Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce. Dave was also elected to serve a term as Chairman of the State Capital Law Firm Group (now known as SCG Legal), a global network of more than 145 preeminent independent law firms with nearly 450 offices around the world.

Professional Associations
  • American Bar Association
    • Public Utility, Communications and Transportation Law Section (1984-present)
    • Committees on Energy Law, Cable Television and Communications
    • Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice Section (1978 - present)
  • State Bar of Michigan
    • Public Utility Law Committee (Chairman 1985-1986)
    • Administrative Law Section (State Council, 1983-1990; State Chairperson, 1988-1989)
    • Representative Assembly (Delegate, 1985-1988)
    • Administrative Rule-making Committee (State Chairman, 1982-1984)
  • Ingham County Bar Association
    • President (1985-1986)
    • Chairman, Administrative Law Section (1989-1997)
  • Energy Bar Association
  • State Capital Group
    • Chairman of Board of Directors (1998-1999)
    • Chairman, Public Utility, Energy and Communications Section (1994-2007)
    • Board of Directors (1993-1999)
    • Michigan Representative (1989-present)
  • Tri-County Council of Bar Leaders (Chairman, 1986)
  • National Resource Center for State Laws and Regulations, Board of Directors (1993-1999); Chairman (1998-1999) 
Honors & Distinctions
  • Achieved an AV© peer review rating by Martindale-Hubbell
  • Outstanding Lawyer of the Year, Ingham County Bar Association (2013)
  • Chair, Energy, Utilities, and Telecommunications Law Department, Fraser Trebilcock Davis & Dunlap, P.C. (2008-2014)
  • Listed in The Best Lawyers in America, Administrative/Regulatory Law, Corporate Law in Lansing 2018; first listed 1993
  • Named a Michigan Super Lawyer by the publishers of Law & Politics Magazine for every year the list has been published

  • Recipient of the 2007 Community Service Award from the Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Selected as a '2016 Leading Michigan Lawyer' by Leading Lawyers for Energy Law; Governmental, Municipal, Lobbying & Administrative Law; Public Utilities Law: Gas/Water/Electric
  • Listed in Martindale-Hubbell, Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers
  • Listed in Who's Who in American Law and Who's Who in America
  • Life Fellow, Michigan State Bar Foundation and American Bar Foundation
  • 2005 Distinguished Citizen of the Year (Chief Okemos Council Boy Scouts)
  • Special Tribute from the United States Congress (2005)
  • Silver Beaver Award, Boy Scouts of America (2003)
  • Small Business Advocate of the Year, Lansing Regional Chamber of Commerce (1991)
  • Recipient, Governor's Minuteman Award, Greater Michigan Foundation (1990)
  • John W. Cummiskey Award (for pro bono services) State Bar of Michigan (1990)
  • Distinguished Volunteer Award, Voluntary Action Center (1990)
  • George Washington Honor Medal (National Citizenship Award), Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge (1990)
  • Distinguished Service Award, Michigan Association for Deaf, Hearing and Speech Services (1989)
  • Distinguished Service Award, Administrative Law Section, State Bar of Michigan (1989)
  • Named to Lansing State Journal's Sesquicentennial List of 150 Achievers (1987)
  • Recipient, Resolution of Tribute from Michigan Senate (1986)
  • "Michigan’s Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year," State Bar of Michigan (1985-1986)
  • Executive Editor, Wayne Law Review (1975-1976)